

## The Henry "Hank" Menzies Memorial Award

Established in 1979 as an incentive to all members of the Stock Outboard Category to compete for and accumulate points in Stock Outboard racing, inspired to greater efforts in competition by the memory of the outstanding sportsmanship and accomplishments of the late Henry Menzies. This award shall forever be a National Award of the American Power Boat Association emblematic of the recognition of that member of the Stock Outboard category who, in each racing year accumulates the most points in all classes of Stock Outboard racing during the current racing year for closed course and marathon racing combined. Only members of the Stock Outboard Category in good standing shall be eligible to receive the award.

Dr. Henry "Hank" Menzies, a dentist from Colgate, Wisconsin, whose racing career earned him a place in APBA's Hall of Champions and the Gulf Marine Hall, lost his life while competing in the 1978 Stock Outboard Nationals at Saranac Lake, NY. He was known nationwide for his dedication to the sport of Stock Outboard racing. Hank lived every minute to the fullest and inspired this enthusiasm in the hearts of those around him.

YEAR	DRIVER	HOMETOWN	POINTS	RACES
1979	Fred Miller	Trenton, MI	19,605	48
1980	Sam Hemp	Brookfield, WI	24,553	71
1981	Sam Hemp	Brookfield, WI	18,214	49
1982	Jeff Hutchins	Miami, FL	15,309	39
1983	Bunky Bowerman	Winter Haven, FL	18,172	53
1984	David Dewald	Reading, PA	13,600	29
1985	Matt D'Agostino	Alexandria, VA	17,622	50
1986	David Dewald	Reading, PA	13,600	29
1987	Steve Warnock	Pewaukee, WI	16,323	47
1988	David Dewald	Reading, PA	21,334	64
1989	David Dewald	Reading, PA	20,159	54
1990	Billy Allen	Quincy, MA	19,971	60
1991	Billy Allen	Quincy, MA	14,286	40
1992	Billy Allen	Quincy, MA	16,993	50
1993	Charlie Gonyea	Worcester, MA	15,366	49
1994	Alex Jennings III	Aston, PA	12,915	43
1995	Charlie Gonyea	Worcester, MA	22,132	65
1996	Steven Dawe	Indio, CA	22,613	67
1997	Steven Dawe	Indio, CA	24,764	69
1998	Steven Dawe	Indio, CA	21,930	62
1999	Steven Dawe	Indio, CA	30,038	82
2000	Edward Hearn	Valparaiso, IN	27,017	69
2001	J Michael Kelly	Auburn, WA	22,890	71
2002	Edward Hearn	Valparaiso, IN	19,136	57
2003	Gary Lewis	Needles, CA	23,245	72
2004	J Michael Kelly	Auburn, WA	25,557	72
2005	Gary Lewis	Needles, CA	24,776	72
2006	J Michael Kelly	Auburn, WA	22,913	76
2007	Mike Perman	Maple Valley, WA	26,913	83
2008	Mike Perman	Maple Valley, WA	20,465	67
2009	Mike Perman	Maple Valley, WA	21,912	67
2010	J Michael Kelly	Auburn, WA	27,923	80
2011	Joe Pater	St. Joseph, MI	23,723	59
2012	Edward Hearn	Valparaiso, IN	20,518	49
2013	Manny Dias	Riverside, RI	12,959	40
2014	Edward Hearn	Valparaiso, IN	16,961	41
2015	Terry Kerr	Flat Rock, MI	16,408	49
2016	Joe Pater	St. Joseph, MI	28,448	75
2017	Kyle Lewis	Seattle, WA	17,734	52
2018	Mikey Pavlick	Oswego, IL	33,366	88
2019	John Wlodarski III	Newton, NJ	27,141	72